Juliet Elliott

Before this weekend, the only cyclocross race I’d ever done was the excellent ‘Muddy Hell‘, but I rode that course after a beer, having a chat, in the dark, in fancy dress and on a fixed gear bike.

This weekend I entered my first cyclocross race on the Charge Filter ‘Apex’ and  decided that I wanted to WIN! I’d got a little practice in over the last few weeks and was feeling reasonably fit, so I lined up at the start with all the men and the lone other woman and set off sprinting as hard as I could.

About half way round my first lap, nearly everyone overtook! What the hell? Turns out I’m not as tough as I thought, and serious cyclocross races are really intense! For the next hour I was riding at my absolute limit, at no point were there any ‘easy’ bits where…

View original post 108 more words

Leave a Reply

